Berlin Marathon 2017

On 30th November I received the email. “You are a winner.” My friend Kathry and I have scored ourselves a team spot on the 44th Berlin Marathon. The plan to submit our names to the entry lottery was hatched at Kathy’s wedding this year. We filed our team entry on the last day for submission, and now this. Wow. And, erm, what now??? 

I ran the Bristol UK half-marathon in 2009, but in those days I was running 5-10 km daily. Nowadays, I probably clock a 5 km run once a month. This, is a serious call to action. Running a marathon is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time, for some random reason, and somehow Berlin seemed like the best setting for this challenge. Both Kathy and I grew up there, so why got grab your BFF and go for a fun 42.195 km run through the city? Seemed like a good idea at the time.

We have 10 months to train. So, we should be alright, ey? Kathryn will be fine – she’s a fit cyclist and triathlete. Here’s to hoping that she’ll piggyback me all the way around town. Or maybe I should just get off the computer and start running… New Asics runners were bought a few months ago. Next stop, Up and Running Dubai for a running clinic. They trained Maria Conceicao for some of her amazing endeavours, so I hope they can turn me back into a road runner too! Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

