Cobra Fitness – Muay Thai and Much More

In search of a boxing gym, Joshua came across Cobra Fitness located at Al Bandar, in the Al Raha beach area. They’ve got a great gym set-up and offer a variety of fitness, boxing, muay thai, trx, and even pole fitness classes. Check out a list of their classes here. I had absolutely no interest in boxing, but I was in search of something new that would motivate me to get up and exercise in the mornings. So why not…

Finally, I dragged my unfit self to one of the 6 am boxing/muay thai fitness classes, having never punched or kicked a bag before. The skipping, sit ups and press ups at the start were enough to make me think this was a really really bad idea, and that I might keel over if I stay another minute. But I stayed. I didn’t keel over. And I’ve been going twice a week for the past two months now. Once you get into it, it’s a pretty addictive workout.

Long teaches the morning fitness classes from 6-7 am. It starts with a warm up of skipping, burpees, sit ups, push ups and the likes, and then you move over to the punching bags where you do 30 second to 3 minute intervals of punching and kicking sequences. One at a time, Long calls out individuals from their bags so they can train with him for one round and learn some more technique. In between punching/kicking routines, there’ll be a set of 20-50 sit ups, 20 push ups, or 20 squats. You usually finish with a sprint around the gym. Overall, a great whole body workout that lets you destress, feel completely wrecked at the end of it, and walk out of the shower feeling like a new person.

Contact them and you can get a first trial class for free!

Leave a Reply

