Learning Arabic

Knowing how to speak Arabic is not essential if you live in Abu Dhabi or Dubai, as most people speak English. I did really regret not knowing the language though when I’ve had to deal with the police in the case of traffic accidents. No, I was not speeding, but I did back my car into a pole one time (funny in hindsight), and I was also hit by another car on the motorway … which then did a runner (not so funny). But traffic in the UAE is a different story…

Besides that, I now have several Arab friends who are teasing me for only knowing how to say “Yalla Yalla” (you guys know who you are!), and in the end they’re right. We’ve been here for almost two years now and it is about time that I make an effort to learn the language.

As I don’t really have time to attend regular classes, I’ve been searching websites and YouTube for a beginner’s course. There are many options online, but it took me a while to find one that worked for me. This week I finally came across the YouTube videos of LearnArabicwithMaha, and I would definitely recommend Maha’s videos to anyone who wants to give Arabic a try! She’s also got a wordpress site at: https://learnarabicwithmaha.wordpress.com

Maha keeps here lessons short and simple, and she’s organised them in a great way that allows you to memorise things very easily.  I started watching these videos just this week and I already know how to read and write the alphabet, how to count, and how to say a number of essential greetings and commonly used expressions. Insha’Allah I shall be fluent soon 🙂

If you know of any other good resources for learning Arabic, please post below!

Ma’a salama 🙂

Leave a Reply

